The Viking British invasion

A Brief Timeline

800 AD: Viking raiders from Norway and Denmark first arrive in Britain, attacking monasteries, settlements and towns along the east coast.

835 AD: The Vikings establish a settlement in Dublin, Ireland.

865 AD: The Great Heathen Army, a large Viking force, invades Britain and conquers the Kingdoms of Northumbria, East Anglia and Mercia.

871 AD: King Alfred of Wessex defeated the Great Heathen Army at the Battle of Ashdown.

880 AD: The Treaty of Alfred and Guthrum divides the Kingdoms of Wessex and Mercia.

885 AD: The Vikings capture York and establish the Kingdom of Jorvik.

892 AD: The Viking army sails up the River Thames and besieges the city of London.

901 AD: The Treaty of Alfred and Guthrum is revised, establishing the Danelaw, a region of Britain under Viking control.

927 AD: King Athelstan of Wessex defeats a combined force of Vikings and Scots at the Battle of Brunanburh, securing the southern border of the Danelaw.

941 AD: The Battle of Brunanburh is followed by a period of relative peace between the Anglo-Saxon Kingdoms and the Vikings.

979 AD: King Aethelred II of Wessex pays the Vikings to leave the Danelaw.

1009 AD: The Vikings return to Britain and plunder the coast of Essex.

1016 AD: King Aethelred II is killed in battle and replaced by his brother-in-law, King Canute of Denmark.

1042 AD: King Canute dies and is succeeded by his son, King Harold I of England.

1066 AD: The Norman Conquest of England begins, led by William the Conqueror.

1086 AD: The Domesday Book is published, recording the names and holdings of all landowners in England.

1095 AD: The last Viking raid on Britain occurred when a large force of Norsemen attacked the town of Scarborough.

1135 AD: King Stephen of England bans all Viking settlements in Britain.

1150 AD: The last Viking settlers in Britain are expelled.